So I decided that I need to read a wider variety of literature, besides my normal English novels and western saints, and so I bought The Art of War by Sun Tzu. I am not sure why I landed on this book. I know I saw it in a list of books every boy should read, but I am not a boy. And the Art of War? Really? I am not sure what I was thinking, but I am glad I chose it.

It is so fascinating! It reads like a book of poetry, some of the wording is very beautiful, but he sufficiently covers what makes a good leader, what makes a good campaign and what makes a good fighting company, to name just a few topics.

There are a lot of lists, I like lists. Lists like the five things that make a good commander or the nine different kinds of battle fields. There is also a list of all the different kinds of espionage: I think my favorite chapter was the one on espionage.

Sun Tzu said to know the enemy, and know thyself. If you do not know one or the other, the battle will be lost. He also advocates winning the battle before it has even begun with cunning, thus avoiding excess bloodshed.

I’ve never read anything quite like this before, neither this genre and nor anything Chinese. I am certainly going to look into both.

