Igor (in suit) with Vaslav Nijinsky (as Petrushka)

Random fact of the day: today is the birthday of Igor Fyodorovich Stravinsky (June 17, 1882). I dare you to say Igor Fyodorvich Stravinsky three times, very fast. Without him we wouldn’t have the music for the ballets of The Firebird (L’oiseau de feu), Petrushka or The Right of Spring (Le sacre du printemps).

Most people recognize the music from The Right of Spring from Walt Disney’s film Fantasia. I think its from the part of the film with all the dinosaurs. Which is really ironic because when you think of ballet dancers you don’t tend to thing of dinosaurs. I want to say that Stravinsky was the only living composer whose work was included in Fantasia, but don’t quote me on that, I forget where I read that.

I’ve always wanted to see the Firebird since I read a biography on the ballerina Maria Tallcheif around the age of ten, unfortunately I have yet to see it! I know I have seen Petrushka, but I can’t remember exactly where. It may have been on TV. I do remember that one to be haunting and very dark, but I liked it!

