I read The Once and Future King by T.H. White a long time ago, I think I was in middle school. I don’t remember exactly how old I was, at any rate, after reading it for a second time I have decided that I was too young to get half of it.

Originally it was shelved in my mind with comedic character like Jeeves and Bertie Wooster. Not so, my friends, not so. It does indeed have a lot of comic elements, that is for sure. T.H. White is an excellent writer, and the first part of the book is truly humourous. But the second part is full of dark humor, and shows how the faults of man will tear apart any good idea if they are left unchecked.

My big question is about the title of the fourth part: The Candle in the Wind. Who or what is the candle? It seems that every character in that part of the book could be a candle blowing in the wind. And it also seems that the idea Arthur had was also a candle blowing in the wind. Thoughts?

