There is one thing I have always wondered about people that lived before alarm clocks. How on earth did they get up on time? I’ve read countless books set in periods or areas without electricity yet they are all able to get up with the sun, or before the sun, every day, without a problem. How did they do it?

All I know is that my alarm, besides being my best friend, is my worst enemy. The poor thing is lucky to still be in working condition from all the times I’ve knocked it off the night stand. But where would I be without it? Probably unemployed.

Now, I do naturally wake up at 7:45 a.m., if given the opportunity to sleep until I wake on my own. Go figure. Its really annoying on weekends or nights I’ve been out late. But I must admit that it is nice knowing I’ll be up. But an internal clock of 7:45 a.m. doesn’t help when one needs to be dressed and out the door by 7:15 a.m.

I’ve often thought that maybe I am just lacking in self discipline, that if I had more self control I would be able to wake up on my own at an early hour. But then, I really don’t have much control over my reasoning capabilities when I am asleep.  How does one develop self control over sleep?

