John and Abigail Adams are now two of my favorite historical characters ever because of this book. It is a compilation of their letters between the years of 1774-1783. The last letter was written from Paris as John was about to make his journey home after a three year stay in Europe (Abigail did not see him or her son John Quincy Adams for three whole years! Sometimes she would go a year without hearing from either because ships sank or were captured!) They had the most amazing relationship and they are two of the most brilliant people ever!

I was most impressed by their patience: they spent years apart from each other, but they were able to do so with decorum and hope because they knew what they were doing was for the good of their children, their country and their world.

I was also impressed by their education, their ability to craft beautiful, concise letters, and their wit. Truly amazing people!

“You will think me transported with enthusiasm, but I am not. I am well aware of the toil and blood and treasure that it will cost us to maintain this Declaration and support and defend these States. Yet, through all the gloom, I can see the rays of ravishing light and glory, I can see that the end is more than worth all the means. And that posterity will triumph in that day’s transaction, even although we should rue it, which I trust in God we shall not.” ~John Adams, July 3, 1776

 

 

 

 

