My Mom and I were at an estate sale over the weekend, I stumbled across a Ferragamo purse towards the end of our searchings. From twenty feet away I recognized the labeling, a vintage Ferragamo, score! But when I held it in my hands, I realized the sad truth. It was ugly. Sigh. There was no way I was going to buy that, even at an estate sale price. Mom confirmed that it wasn’t cute, and just Ferragamo. I guess I could have resold it, but I am not sure it would have been worth the effort. Or I could have bought it and hoped that when I used it everyone else would overlook its ugliness because it was designer, but I don’t think I could have done that. It would have been like the empresses’ new purse, some child at some point would blow my cover and ask why I was carrying an ugly purse.

The neat thing about estate sales is that the remind you right away that you can’t take it with you. As you rummage around in someone’s closet and dig through their kitchen drawers, you realize this is all stuff someone left behind because they died. Not because they went on vacation, or they just got tired of everything they owned.

