I acquired a new book bag/tote/grocery bag/metro bag. Anyway, its from a vintage book cover from The Great Gatsby! How cool is that? I like The Great Gatsby, what I hate is that everyone else likes it too. That sounds so snobby, but I feel like it is one of those books that actors and actresses like to say, “Oh, yes, The Great Gatsby is my favorite book of all time.” Now if they had said Tender is the Night, or The Curious Case of Benjamin Button (both also by Fitzgerald), I would have had more respect. Or even if they indicated that they knew who wrote The Great Gatsby, or that they had read other things by Fitzgerald and they still preferred The Great Gatsby. But I end up thinking to myself, couldn’t you come up with a favorite book that is a little more original? Does your favorite book have to be the same as everyone in Hollywood? For a while there everyone was saying that they liked James Joyce’s Ulysses.

Sorry for the gripe. Here is my bag. I like it. Did you know that this is the original cover art for this book? It is by Francis Cugat and the title of the painting is Celestial Eyes. Here is more on the cover.  Apparently Hemingway also commented on the cover saying:  “Scott told me not to be put off by it, that it had to do with a billboard along a highway in Long Island that was important in the story. He said he had liked the jacket and now he didn’t like it.”

