So I’ve read a few books lately . . .

Tangled Web by L.M. Montgomery 

  • I disliked this book so much I am not going to tell you about it. You can read it for yourself if you want. Don’t say I didn’t warn you.

Happy All the Time by Laurie Colwin

  • I wasn’t too thrilled with this one. I am confused about the point of the story. It’s about two friends/cousins that fall in love with two women and then marrying these women. Each meets with their own problems leading up to their marriages, and of course they are beset with normal problems that marriages face. Frankly it bored me.

Holding the Stirrup by Baroness Elisabeth von Guttenberg

  • This was a fascinating true story of a privileged German woman and her marriage and struggles her family faced during WWII. The war ended up claiming her husband, her one of her sons, and many beloved friends and relatives. Her family belonged to the resistance against Hitler’s regime. Her husband and sons still had to serve in the Nazi army, but all the while they were working to bring that horror down from the inside. It is an amazing story.

The Collected Short Stories of Caroline Gordon

  • I like southern literature, but Caroline Gordon has just become a favorite. She isn’t as grotesque as Flannery O’Connor, but still has that darkness that is characteristic of southern writing. I can’t wait to try one of her novels. My two favorite stories in the book were Emmanuele! Emmanuele! and The Waterfall.
