Okay! So I tried last week’s meatless meal, and it was gross. I am so sorry! I promise today’s is yummy, because I have made it many, many times! Of course my camera battery died while I was making this, so I don’t have a picture, but I promise you, it looks like beans and rice with tomatoes.

You will need:

1 can of black beans 12 or 14 oz.
1 can diced tomatoes 12 or 14 oz.
1/2 yellow onion chopped finely
1 c. frozen corn
Cumin
Peper
Better Than Bullion vegetable Base (you can find this in the soup section of most stores, Whole Foods has it for sure)
2 c. white rice (prepare rice as directed on the package)

To start, prepare your rice as directed on the package. This should take about twenty minutes. While the rice is cooking you can complete the rest of the meal. Dice the onion. In a large pan sauté the diced onion in a little olive oil. Open the beans and rinse them in a colander. When the onion is translucent add the rinsed beans, the can of tomatoes, and corn. Bring to a simmer. Add a 2 tsp. of the vegetable base. Sprinkle with pepper and cumin to taste. If you feel it needs salt, add a little more vegetable base. When the rice is finished, put about a 1/2 c. of rice in a bowl, spoon the bean mixture over the top. And that is it! Enjoy!

I don’t always add the corn or the cumin, sometimes I change things up. You can add different kinds of beans, seasonings, garlic, chilies, vegetables, etc. Whatever you like! If I have red wine or cooking sherry lying around sometimes I add a splash of that.

