So I started on another reading binge. Right now I am reading four books, possibly five if you take into account that I read the first three pages of my friend’s current read The Sea, The Sea when she let it out of her sight for a few moments yesterday. (Let it be noted that I want to read that next and I call dibs!) So here is the current list:

Deadly Pleasures by P.D. James: Don’t worry folks this isn’t a torpid romance but a mystery, I think. At least it opened with a potential murder and I am enjoying it.

A History of Russia by Nicholas V. Riasanovsky: This country is fascinating. I just got past the decline and fall of the Kievan Russia and we’re moving on to the Mongol invasions.

An Introduction to the Devout Life by St. Francis De Sales: St. Francis is such and amazing person. He knows how to show the layman/woman that holiness is attainable outside the monastery/convent walls.

Wives and Daughters by Elizabeth Gaskell: Not too thrilled with this one so far. It has a musty flavor about it that I can’t shake out of my mind. Yes, books have flavors, didn’t you know? This one has that taste that tea acquires when it gets old. Of course, I don’t know if the author is to blame for that. Wives and Daughters was left incomplete at the time of Elizabeth Gaskell’s death and maybe she had plans to edit it to a masterpiece. But for the time being, I think it’s dull.

Source: ffffound.com via Trena on Pinterest

