So, one of the top searches that bring people to my blog is the phrase: what to wear in the Vatican. Sounds like there are a lot of people taking trips to the Holy See! I am so jealous! But, then I realized, I know what you are supposed to wear in the Vatican! I can tell you! I lived next to the Vatican walls for three years, and I went into St. Peter’s Basilica every other day!

Women: You may not wear: shorts, mini skirts or skirts that come too far above the knee, sleeveless shirts, or plunging necklines. If you wear any of these things you will not be allowed to enter, or you will be handed a paper dress thing that will ruin any photo of you inside St. Peter’s Basilica. So I suggest that you wear: trousers, skirts or dresses that come to the knee and bring a sweater for your shoulders. If you are wearing a plunging neckline I suggest you button that sweater up. Of if it is too hot for a sweater bring a pashmina shawl, I always kept one in my purse while I lived in Italy. They are lightweight and can cover your shoulders if necessary.

Ladies, if you have the privilege to meet with the Pope, and you are American, please note that you should wear: a dress or suit of a dark color, preferably black. Make sure the skirt of the dress comes to your knees and that your shoulders are covered. You may add a black mantilla, if you would like. White mantillas and dresses are reserved for Catholic monarchs and brides. If you are attending an audience to have your marriage blessed by the Pope you may wear your wedding dress, but remember to bring a shrug if your dress is strapless as your shoulders should be covered. Finally, if you are not American you may either wear what I have suggested or the traditional dress attire of your country. (I always loved seeing the Japanese when they attended papal events, their Kimonos were so lovely.)

Source: eastwingrules.blogspot.com via Trena on Pinterest

Men: You may not wear: shorts, tank tops, or wife beaters. You will not be allowed inside St. Peter’s. You also will be handed a paper gown and you will wear it over your current attire, or sit outside. I suggest you wear: trousers and an Oxford or polo shirt. Wearing athletic socks with dress shoes is also strictly forbidden. (Okay, okay, not really. But it was worth a try. Besides, you’re in Italy, they have amazing haberdashery at your fingertips, why would you resort to athletic socks when something like this is available in a nearby shop?) Also remember that if you are male, your hat needs to come off your head when you walk through the door of any church. Wearing a head covering inside a Catholic church is a privilege only women and members of hierarchy may claim if they so choose.

Gentlemen, if you have the privilege to meet the Pope, and you are American, a dark suit is in order. If you are not American you may either wear what I have suggested or the traditional dress attire of your country.

Source: eastwingrules.blogspot.com via Trena on Pinterest

P.S. And you should totally go HERE to see all the virtual views of the Vatican!

