Somehow it is already Tuesday. How did that happen?

I made this cake over the weekend, and of course forgot to take a picture. But it was tasty if I do say so myself. I made two alterations. 1) I substituted the butter and lemon flavoring with vanilla extract, 3 tsp. in total. 2) I added about 2 tbls. of crushed lavender, straight from the garden. The lavender combined with the vanilla was divine.

Then I added a dark chocolate cream cheese frosting. In retrospect, I think the frosting was overkill. I should have just garnished with mint and lavender (’cause that’s what I have in the yard right now).

And I finally figured out why a pound cake is called a pound cake (courtesy of my ancient, trusty, Joy of Cooking). Not because you gain a pound. Not because it weighs a pound when finished. But because you traditionally would have used a pound of butter, pound of sugar, pound of eggs, pound of flour and leavening.

