Image Source: dailydoseofstuf.tumblr.com via Trena on Pinterest

I was wondering what I was going to write about today, then I came across this picture. It reminded me, when I shoot pistols, my eyes close. Are you afraid? I was taking a gun safety class and the instructor had us at the range practicing with various types of pistols. He was befuddled because none of my shots seemed to be hitting the target, at all. After closer inspection he discovered that I take aim, but at the very last possible millisecond, my eyes close and the gun dips down the tiniest bit, causing me to completely miss the target.  It’s a knee jerk reaction to anticipating the noise and kick of the gun.

However, that is just with pistols.  Give me a shotgun and we’re in business. I don’t remember exactly how old I was,  probably about 13, but my family was shooting trap. Shooting trap is a tradition we have on the 4th of July. Anyway, an off-duty police officer made up part of the group that year. When the teams were divided up each adult was paired with a junior, and I was assigned the police officer. Each team member would take a turn shooting at the clay pigeons and the partner would catch the strays if necessary. “Don’t worry,” he said, he confidently told pig-tailed me, “I’ll get all the ones you miss.” So I shot first, and hit every single clay pigeon. Then we switched, and I got all three or four of the pigeons he missed. I didn’t let a single one of those pigeons hit the ground. As we passed our guns off to the next team he solemnly looked down at me and said, “please don’t ever end up on the wrong side of law.”

