I am ashamed to admit that I have fallen behind on my reading, I only read one book in the whole month of July. But I did read another one this week and have a few more waiting in the wings. . .

July’s book was Captivating Revised & Updated: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman’s Soul by by John Eldredge and Stasi Eldredge. (I found it on my coffee table, I think I might have stole it from one of my roommates, sorry roommate!) It was entertaining, but poorly written and lacking in “meat.” Often the bones of an argument were presented, but they failed to flesh is out. On more than one occasion I wondered why they weren’t quoting Edith Stein or Alice von Hildebrand, or at least referencing their work. In the end, I think the only reason I enjoyed reading it was because I am a woman and I like reading about relationships and how people relate to each other, etc.  

The book I most recently finished was amazing! A Short Autobiography  a collection of essay written by F. Scott Fitzgerald compiled to give a window into his life. It’s not an autobiography in the strict sense, he didn’t sit down and write out his life. But in every writer’s work there is a little bit of himself and his life. My favorite was a piece he wrote on living on $36,000 a year. And I am pleased to announce that even in this modern age, I spend less on clothes each month than Fitzgerald did. I think my economy merits a new pair of shoes. . .

