On Monday I ventured out of the house to pay a visit to the Natural History Museum and the National Gallery of Art. I hadn’t been to the Natural History Museum in a while, and I thought I would go pay the mummies a visit, and the Hope Diamond.  They said to say “hello.”

 

And then I headed over to the National Gallery of Art to see an exhibit titled the McCrindle Gift. Although the McCrindle gift to the National Gallery of Art does include some larger paintings in difference parts of the museum, this is a collection of drawings, sketches and watercolours from various artists, John Singer Sargent included (I posted one of his watercolours below), and it is awesome. I can’t wait for my next paycheck so I can buy the collection catalogue. If you have a chance I highly recommend it.

One of the things I love about living near DC is going to museums frequently enough that I don’t feel like I have to see the whole museum every time I visit. I can just go and see one exhibit, study it closely, visit a favorite or two of the main collection, and then head home. It doesn’t have to be a marathon trip.

 

Source: nga.gov via Trena on Pinterest

