When I was in high school I remember listening to Paul Harvey’s “The Rest of the Story.” I loved hearing the random bits of information. So today I have a few random bits of information for you!

If you have ever been in DC you’re probably aware of the many weird location names, like Foggy Bottom. Well, I finally took a little bit of time and looked up a few of these names, and I’ll be sharing the story behind them a little bit at a time!

Today, I’ll tell you why Foggy Bottom is called Foggy Bottom. (I think it’s a very English sounding name. When I say it in my head it is almost always in an English accent. To my British readers: perhaps this is complete ignorance on my part, but it does sound better with an English accent.) Foggy Bottom is the low area near the Potomac River where George Washington University is located. A long time ago, this used to be the more industrial part of town, there were several factories. The combination of the proximity to the river and the smoke from the factories may have caused this area to be foggy. Hence the name, Foggy Bottom.

 And, did you know before it was called Foggy Bottom, this area was better known as Funkstown? And now you know the rest of the story!

Image Source: washingtonpost.com via Trena on Pinterest

