“Who is Anne Arundel?” I asked my roommate as we drove to her home in Annapolis, MD. We had just past a sign that said  “Entering Anne Arundel County,” or something to that effect.

“Who?” she asked.

“Anne Arundel.” I said.

“Oh, you mean Arundel.” She pronounced the name as Uh-run-dull. I had said Ah-roon-dell. I’m not great with English phonetics.

“Sure,” I said, “however you pronounce it. Who is she?”

“I don’t know.”

“Oh.”

So a few months later I’ve taken the time to look it up. Anne Arundel was the wife of Cecil Calvert – the second Lord Baltimore, and a devout Catholic. Cecil Calvert, through the generous funding of his father-in-law, Thomas Arundell, first Baron Arundell of Wardour, was granted a colony by Charles I in what is now Annapolis, Maryland.

Anne Arundel (pictured above) bore the second Lord Baltimore 9 children in their 21 years of marriage. She died at the age of 34. Anne Arundel County was named after her in her memory the following year. From what I can tell, Anne Arundel never actually set foot in America, she is buried in Tilsbury, Wiltshire, England.

Here is what is written on her gravestone:

Epitome of all the qualities of the Phoenix
That there are in flowers, buds and graces
(these being as great as there are in Heaven)
Here Lies
Anne Arundell Lady Baltimore

Farewell.  No other Woman’s love in the world was to be so requited
She left this world on July 23rd in the 1649th Year
From the Childhood of God and 34 years of age
This memorial was set up by her husband for his love’s sake.

And know you know the rest of the story! (I promise I am not going to do this every day, I just get a kick out of find out who these people really are.)

Image Source: aacounty.org via Trena on Pinterest

