CIMG1217CIMG1218CIMG1237CIMG1255CIMG1211

So here are the promised pictures of Poland! 1) St. Mary’s Basilica – in the main square, 2) decoration on the door to our hostel, 3) a chandelier from the Wieliczka Salt Mine, it is made out of salt! 4) Thanksgiving Dinner! (It’s turkey on a skewer with bacon in between each piece all roasted together and mustard on the side, mmmmm) I guess the picture didn’t come out very well, but it still looks tasty. 5) The beautiful Wawel Cathedral on Wawel Hill, right next to Wawel castel (I like saying Wawel, pronounce it Vah-vel). St. Queen Jadwiga of Poland is buried here, one of my all time favorite saints!

It was a great trip! Lots of coffee, lots of pastry, lots of amazing Polish churches, adoration on every street corner, lots of classical music, train rides. My friend and I went to a classical concert every single night. We had this routine that would start with us waking up around 9:00, getting coffee, touring until 16:30ish, then getting more coffee, go to a concert at some amazing location (my favorite was a trio held at the Jagallionian University -the music was to die for and the hall it was held in was so beautiful! It was too dark to take pictures there, but I wish I could have). After our concert we would find a traditional Polish dinner, then walk around the main square and window shop and finally, either find dessert or a shot of vodka somewhere.

We made a few trips outside Krakow to Auswitz-Birkenau, Wadowice (Bl. Pope John Paul II’s hometown), the Divine Mercy Shrine, Wieliczka Salt Mine, to the monastery of Jasna Gora in Częstochowa to see the Black Madonna. (Here is the story of the Black Madonna!)

I wish I could tell you everything, but it would take a book I think. But I will say this, I love Poland, the people are so great, the culture is amazing. It is a very cozy country, I had an amazing trip and I can’t wait to go back again someday!

