Today is the great feast of the Chair of Peter! Christ passed the authority of his Church here on earth to St. Peter and to the successors of St. Peter. (And I say to thee: That thou art Peter; and upon this rock I will build my church, and the gates of hell shall not prevail against it. Matt 16:18) The Chair of Peter, recognizes the authority St. Peter and his successors. (More theologically minded friends feel free to correct me if I am wrong!) Today’s feast is particularly thrilling in light of the fact that in a short time there will be a new Pope sitting on the chair before Easter.

The picture above shows the requilary of the Chair of Peter (the actual chair is under the grate of the large baroque chair) in St. Peter’s Basilica. You can’t see it in this picture, but whole altar is covered in candle holders for huge tapers – I think the candles they use must be a yard tall each. Today all these tapers will be put in their place and lit. It is a beautiful sight! What you also can’t tell is just how big this altar is – that chair in the middle is huge! I once got to see the workers at St. Peter’s cleaning the altar, two grown men can fit in the sit of that chair and it still dwarfs them.

