20130418-135309.jpg

So I was nominated for the Liebster award a while ago, by Martha at Romancing Reilly, and then again by Joannie at Joan in Ordinary Time. So I’ll come clean and pass the mention on. Thanks girls, I am so flattered!

(You are probably wondering why I have a picture of my feet in mismatched socks. Well, that is how I feel about answering all these questions, a little awkward – like a pair mismatched socks. And, before you start worrying that I went out in public like that, I did have my socks hidden in a cute pair of boots – more on that later.)

How Liebster works:

Thank the person who nominated you and link your post to their blog.
List 11 facts about yourself then answer the 11 questions given to you.
Create 11 more questions for your 9 nominees, all of whom have 200 or less followers.
Comment on their blogs informing them of their Liebster Award nomination.

Eleven Facts About Myself :
1. I have ridiculously good distance vision.
2. Even though I am brunette, I was blonde as a child.
3. I wrote my undergrad thesis on fairy-tales.
4. My current perfume of choice is Chance by Chanel. (I am thinking of something lighter for the summer, suggestions?)
5. I’ve been to Ibiza, Spain, because of this song. In college my friends and I thought the refrain was “we’re going to eat pizza.” Well, I have now eaten pizza in Ibiza. ๐Ÿ™‚
6. My great-grandmother, who came straight off the boat from Denmark, taught me how to crochet.
7. I have seven brothers and four sisters. (No, none of us are adopted. Yes, we all have the same two parents. No, none of us are twins. Yes, we love each other. No, I don’t wish I had been an only child. Yes, my parents are beyond awesome. Any more questions? No? Okay, moving on.)
8. I have a hard time picking favorite things. Seriously. Why pick just one? I choose all! (However, this makes life really difficult when I do actually have to make a choice about something. Sigh.)
9. Despite going to college in Virginia and now living in DC for almost four years, I have never been inside of the US Capitol. I plan to remedy this situation this summer.
10. I get sunburned easily, my friends are very aware of my obsession with sunscreen – they will tell you horror stories about how I almost asphyxiated us all with the spray on kind. And I put on more clothes to go to the beach than I wear on a normal day.
11. I love natural light, and even if there is only a few minutes of sunshine left when I get home from work, I’ll open up all the curtins for those few minutes. At work I hate using the flourescent overhead in my office and rely on the huge picture window.
22 Questions from Joannie and Martha (11 from each, it’s only fair):

Joannie’s Questions:

1. If you could be a fictional character for a day, who would you be? Lucy Pevensie

2. What is your favorite book of the Bible? Mmmm, maybe Wisdom? I like Esther too, and Tobit, and John. Do I really have to pick a favorite?

3. What is your favorite thing to cook or bake? Another favorite, again? Right now I am on a cinnamon roll kick.

4. Whatโ€™s your favorite Christmas movie? It’s A Wonderful Life or White Christmas, depending on my mood. or The Santa Clause

5. Do you subscribe to any magazines? I just subscribed to the Washingtonian, I want a subscription to Verily and another to First Things, I just haven’t gotten around to it.

6. Mac or PC? Mac all the way.

7. What is your favorite city in the United States? Ooh, this one is hard. Again, what is with favorites? Each city in it’s own way. . . Rome, most definantly, Rome. Oh, wait US city. . . DC is pretty awesome.

8. What is your go-to meal for Fridays in Lent? A soft boiled egg on toast.

9. If you could spend the day with someone in history, what date in history would you spend with whom? Good question. . . I think I would have liked to have been there when Queen Victoria was told she was now the Queen of England.

10. If you could have a superpower, what would you want and why? I wish I could fly. Think of all the time and money I would save! Plus, I would be able to see family and friends a lot more!

11. Winter or Summer? Summer. Winter sucks the life out of me.

Martha’s Questions:
1. What was the last thing you ate? French toast.
2. List the three songs you are currently listening to the most. According to my iTunes, that would be Skyfall by Adele, Would You Go With Me by Josh Turner, Disappear by Judd and Maggie. Random.
3. What was your first concert? I don’t remember, I think it was Gaelic Storm.
4. Who is your favorite spiritual/faith figure? Um, I don’t really know. Is that bad? Right now I am on a St. Joseph kick. He is awesome.
5. Do you have a strange habit that you could divulge to the internet world? I can’t sleep without socks. My feet get really cold.
6. Why did you begin blogging? Because I’ve learned so many awesome and amazing things and I wanted to share!
7. Name a pet peeve. The ushers at Mass that let you know when you can leave your pew for Communion. I see no use for this. Americans know how to stand in a line, I don’t need you to tell me when the person in front of me has left their pew, I have eyes. Maybe if I was blind this would be helpful. But even blind people are pretty quick about stuff like that. And has anyone ever seen someone rush the altar in America?
8. Your first car. My Echo!
9. Where would you like to be on vacation right now? Somewhere warm and beachy. I think I would like Hawaii, never been there, but is sounds amazing.
10. What do you do when you can’t fall asleep? I read, or I think. Both are rather counter productive because then I can’t stop reading or thinking. I should really find a new method.

11. What luxury do you wish you could indulge in on a regular basis? Mani-pedis. I feel so much more put together when my nails look nice.

My Liebster Nominees (I know most of you have more than 200 followers for sure, but I couldn’t help myself. Plus because of Liebster I discovered that most of the blogs I read have more than 200 followers! You people are awesome!)

Christina – The Evangelista
Lizzie – Dixie Grit
Josepha – Culture Smack
Mabel and Virginia – Life In The Gap

Questions for my Nominees

1. Cherry blossoms or dogwood flowers?
2. What was the last book you read?
3. What was the last article you read?
4. Gin and Tonic or Whiskey and Ginger Ale?
5. If you could name your worst haircut ever, what would it be called?
6. Do you have a green thumb?
7. If you had to paint one thing in your house neon, what would it be?
8. The last song you heard.
9. What is the tallest mountain range you’ve been in?
10. Would you go skydiving?
11. Do you like butter?
