photo

I haven’t been able to read a whole lot lately, but I have finished a few good books! I’ve also bought a ton of books too. I am currently on a self imposed book-buying probation until all my current un-read books have been read, or in the event the library that has taken up residence in my bedroom (for really, it is a library) spontaneously combusted, and I am, somehow, left bookless.

First on the list . . .

An Introduction to the Devout Life by St. Francis De Sales. I’ve been reading this one page by page for at least a year now. It is so good. I read it slow on purpose just to make sure that I was giving it the attention it deserved instead gorging on text. It’s a very good guide for living a virtuous every day life.

A Severe Mercy by Sheldon Vanauken. This one was first recommended to me in college my dear roommate. I’ve been meaning to read it ever since she told me about it and I finally did! It is the love/conversion story of a couple. Both knew C.S. Lewis and the books has a lot of his letters to them (which was a treat by itself). Word to the wise – read it with a box of tissues. The image above comes from their description of how they guarded their love. They built via various habits, practices and virtues what they called the “shining barrier.” I really liked the concept.

Travels with My Aunt by Graham Greene. I am not the world’s biggest Graham Greene fan, he is just too dark for me. However, Travels with My Aunt was a great read, it hardly felt like Graham Greene! It was full of dry, English humour, wit, and a happy ending! What?! Not to mention that the Aunt character is a total riot.

