IMG_1204
I found a book of poems by Karol Wojtyla (soon to be St. Pope John Paul II!) at a yard sale a few weeks ago. I finally had a chance to crack it open a few days ago, and I really like it!

I will admit that I find a great similarity between Karol Wojtyla’s poetry and Pope John Paul II’s prose (yes they are both the same person). It can be confusing. I had an “ah ha” moment when someone explained to me that you read his work as if you were taking a trip up a spiral staircase: you go in circles, but each time you come to a higher understanding of the subject matter. When you finally come to the top of the staircase, you can look down and see that you were not just going in circles, you climbed five stories and your point of view is completely different now.

So for your reading pleasure I present to you:

Thought’s Resistance to Words by Karol Wojtyla

Sometimes it happens in conversation: we stand
facing truth and lack the words,
have no gesture, no sign;
and yet – we feel – no word, no gesture
or sign would convey the whole image
that we must enter alone and face like Jacob.

This isn’t mere wrestling with images
carried in our thoughts;
we fight with the likeness of all things
that inwardly constitute man.
But when we act, can our deeds surrender
the ultimate truths we presume to ponder?

