books

I’ve read a few books so far this summer. I’ve deviated from my normal diet of English Literature to incorporate some different titles.

Wicked by Gregory Maguire: I am still trying to get the point behind this one. I was very confused about it all. Basically it is the story of the Wicked Witch of the West and how she came to be known as such. I am pretty sure Frank L. Baum would not approve. It took a lot of effort for me to finish it and I don’t recommend the book. However, I have heard that the musical is much better and nothing like the book. (Please don’t give this book to your teenager, it is for mature audiences only.)

P.S. I Love You by Cecelia Ahern: I was hoping this would at least be funny and sweet. It wasn’t. It was like eating cardboard. However, it convinced me that I could write chic lit. I am already 2000 words into writing my first badly written novel folks! Just 78,000 more to go!

French Women Don’t Get Fat by Mireille Guiliano: This was refreshingly well written. Granted it was nothing I haven’t heard before from my own mother, but it was still good to hear. Warning: by the time you are finished you will be convinced that you need to drink a glass of Veuve Clicquot Champagne every day – in theory not a bad idea, just not feasible for most pocketbooks.

Fast Food Nation: The Dark Side of the All-American Meal by Eric Schlosser: Very informative, scary, and inspiring at the same time! How is it inspiring? Did you know that the founders of Carl’s Junior (Hardee’s to all you East Coast folks), McDonald’s, and Disneyland (Walt Disney), all dropped out of high school? Amazing!

Easter Vigil & Other Poems by Karol Wojtyla: A great little book of great poetry by Pope John Paul II!

