crepes

While reading “French Women Don’t Get Fat” I started thinking of all the amazing things French people eat, and I’ve taken it upon myself to also eat amazing things, I am not sure it’s making me thin, but, frankly, I could care less. This has led to an influx of crepes.  Crepes for breakfast, crepes for lunch, crepes for dinner. I love crepes, they are cheap, easy to make, and they taste phenomenal. I love them best with a butter, a sprinkle of sugar and a squeeze of fresh lemon. The one on the plate above was the first one I made in this batch (why is it the first one never turns out?), so it doesn’t look so pretty, but I can assure you it was tasty.

I learned how to make crepes from a French woman named Florence. We were both working at a summer camp in Switzerland. We made them for Bastille day for the campers, served chilled glasses of sparkling apple cider. Every now and then while we were turning crepes Florence would take a sip from her glass and declare how refreshing it was. Every time she took a sip! I loved her enthusiasm!

Her husband was Italian and she spoke fluent Italian, and I attribute my ability to speak Italian largely to Florence. We always spoke in Italian and she got me over the huge hurdle of speaking in another language (by that point I could understand everything that said to me, I just had a hard time having a conversation). She would patiently listen to me stumble through sentence after sentence, and by the end of the summer I could hold a decent conversation!

